PR..What’s that?

Have you ever noticed that a lot of people just really don’t know what PR is? I can’t tell you how many times I have told someone who I was majoring in PR and they either say, “What is PR?” or they reference some job that is NOT public relations at all. I have an aunt that swears I will be “the next Barbara Walters!” with my PR degree. Little does she know, PR wouldn’t exactly be the degree I would need to be Barbara Walters. I was in a job interview a few months ago and at the end of the interview, the woman said, “Now, what is PR?” She really didn’t know what PR stood for!

Although I am pointing the finger at everyone else, I have to admit that I didn’t really know what public relations was until probably my junior year of college. So much goes into PR it’s sometimes hard to define what exactly it is. Is it Journalism? Is it Advertising? Is it Marketing? Is Public Relations a little of all of the above?

Here are some definitions I found:

Judging by these definitions, people think of PR in very different ways. What do you this public relations is?

Leave a Reply

